ETL 503 Assessment 2 Part C: Reflection

Part C: Reflection

In reflecting on this subject and this assessment I have developed an understanding of how to build upon the collection at the school I currently work at.  I have developed my ideas on the selection and acquisitions of resources though completing this assignment, assessment task one and module 2. By analysing Hughes-Hassell and Mancall’s (2005, p. 46-47) learner-centred selection criteria and creating an adapted version to meet the needs of my school (Valenzuela, 2014), as well as blogging about how I select suppliers (Valenzuela, 2014), I now have the ability to select and acquire resources for the school collection confidently instead of using the hit and miss tactic I used previously.

According to the ASLA (2013, p.8), “there is a positive relationship between well-resourced libraries and higher student literacy outcomes”. I now have a better understanding of a well-resourced library and now know how to improve the balance in my school collection. As discussed in my module one blog post although print books are increasingly being converted to e-books, there still needs to be a balance of both print and digital resources in the collection (Valenzuela, 2014). Shatzkin (2013) discusses that not all books have been successfully been converted to e-books therefore highlighting the need for both print and digital resources. Although digital resources are rapidly becoming more common in school libraries, until there becomes a flawless accessing tool, that make all forms of digital resources affordable and easily available, there needs to be a balance of print and digital resources. Through this assessment I have also broaden my knowledge on balancing fiction and non-fiction resources. Using documents such as the Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority’s (ACARA) new Australian Curriculum, I have began to identify how different resources can align with the teaching and learning needs in the Australian Curriculum.

I feel I can now justify the need to evaluate the collection and weed individual resources without the guilt from myself as well as other staff, which so often comes with this task. I have taken on Miller’s (2011) MUSTY acronym to use while weeding the collection in my school library.

I have never had to deal with a challenge to the collection, however I now feel I can deal with such a situation easily if it presents itself. I support the Australian Library and Information Association’s (ALIA) statement on free access to information (2007) and will include this statement in my own school library collection policy.

The content from this subject as well as the skills learnt from this assessment have developed my knowledge of the library collection in regards to the teaching and learning environment. It has also given me the skills to confidently create and manage a school library collection as well as create and manage a school library collection policy.

 

Reference

Australian Library and Information Association. (2007). Statement on free access to information. Retrieved from https://www.alia.org.au/about-alia/policies-standards-and-guidelines/statement-free-access-information

Australian School Library Association. (2013). Future learning and school libraries. Retrieved from http://www.asla.org.au/site/DefaultSite/filesystem/documents/2013-ASLA-futures-paper.pdf

Hughes-Hassell, Sandra; Mancall, Jaqueline C. (2005). Collection Management for Youth : Responding to the Needs of Learners. Retrieved from http://www.csuau.eblib.com.ezproxy.csu.edu.au/patron/FullRecord.aspx?p=289075&echo=1&userid=z%2fOioPKZpXZST4YN08WgVw%3d%3d&tstamp=1396759146&id=EF092BF7CAAC3B246900F888DA773921C66A9519

Miller, D. (2011). Weeding not just for gardeners . Retrieved from http://www.slideshare.net/debmille/weeding-not-just-for-gardens

Shatzkin (2013, January 2). What to watch for in 2013 [Blog Post]. Retrieved from http://www.idealog.com/blog/what-to-watch-for-in-2013/

Valenzuela, H. (2014, March 8). ETL 503- Module 1 [Blog post]. Retrieved from https://hannav102.wordpress.com/2014/03/08/etl-501-module-1/  

Valenzuela, H. (2014, April 6). ETL 503 Adapted selection criteria [Blog post]. Retrieved from https://hannav102.wordpress.com/2014/04/05/342/

Valenzuela, H. (2014, June 1). ETL 503 Module 3 [Blog post]. Retrieved from https://hannav102.wordpress.com/2014/06/01/etl503-module-3/  

This entry was posted in ETL503 Resourcing the Curriculum and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

